oh doll

That’s what she would have said. I’d tell her about the stress, being threatened with termination, all the stuff with my teeth, the kids not wanting me to sit with them anymore at school events. Everything. I’d start to cry and she’d say “oh doll” in a voice only moms have. She would make me feel loved, cared for, less alone. I feel so alone now. There is a difference without being able to reach out to her. I tell my dad things, but he shifts into being about him. She would just be there. Listening. I miss you mom.

Leave a Reply

